Home

There is not a “fragment” in all nature, for every relative fragment of one thing is a full harmonious unit in itself.
–John Muir

Sounds like something a haiku poet might say, doesn’t it? A few days ago I visited the John Muir National Historic Site in Martinez and walked through the rooms where he lived with his wife and two daughters nearly 120 years ago. I lingered awhile in the room he called his “Scribble Den,” where, from his desk, he would have looked out over orchards and pristine rolling hills. This is where he gathered his thoughts after his many travels and composed letters, articles and books through which he inspired the environmental movement. Outside the house a light rain was falling, the tail end of a series of winter storms that blew through the Bay Area last week. Breathing in the damp air and imagining what the landscape might have looked like in John Muir’s time, I felt inspired to head home to write.

I only went out for a walk, and finally concluded to stay out till sundown, for going out, I found, was really going in.
–John Muir

a birdcall
from across the valley
and –there! –its answer

3 thoughts on “Scribblings

  1. That’s just how it was this morning. So cold I wasn’t sure I wanted to go out, but the walk needed sweeping of snow. Once I got out there and breathed the clear air, I felt warmer than I had been indoors. When I went out I found I was in.
    Thanks so much for this one. How wonderful to have visited his Site.

    • Thank you Merrill for your comments. Yes, I think John Muir got it just right. I think he would have loved haiku if he had been exposed to it, don’t you?

  2. I’m sure of that. His quote: “The gross heathenism of civilization has generally destroyed nature, and poetry, and all that is spiritual.” – John Muir – seems to indicate that poetry and nature were one and the same to him. I’m not sure I’d blame civilization so much as civilization is made up of people, but the pressure people put on other people to abandon their “center”…their spiritual nature which requires expression in some creative form. I meet people all the time who seem so far removed from poetry and art and nature…and they all seems so lost to me.
    Thanks for this post.

Leave a Reply

